Saturday, November 27, 2010

I'm so sorry

So you may have noticed that I have not written a thing lately.
No I have not gone missing, I was not abducted by aliens either. I've just been busy.
Another reason why I've been MIA is lack of inspiration, it happens sometimes.
You start motivated, you post one time and then another, and it's fun, but sometimes along the way you start losing the motivation, this is the case for me.

After a very long absence I've decided to resume reviewing and posting fun stuff for you guys. So get ready, I have lots in store!

XOXO ~ Jeannette

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Makeup Storage

Hey darlings, I know I haven't posted anything lately, but seriously, procrastination is an enemy that won't leave me alone sometimes.
Anyway, I want to give a shout-out to my dear FB friend Julie D. because she is such a wonderful person who encourages me and makes me fall in love with makeup again and again.

Today I bring you a small post about makeup storage.
If you would have asked me a year ago where I store all of my makeup, I would have probably told you that it all fit in a small purse. Shocking, I know!
The reality of things is, that writing a blog and trying to learn more about the makeup industry allows for clutter and insanely amounts of makeup that I will never ever finish using.

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Tried and True - Pictures for your blog

When I began blogging, one of the most time consuming things I had to do is adding pictures to my posts.
Not only did I have to be able to take good pictures, there was also the process of selecting, editing, and uploading.
Now, you may think I'm exaggerating a little, but as a blog reader, you guys know how important visualization is. Not only does it provide more information on products, but it also perks up a blog.

Sunday, October 3, 2010

MAC's Venomous Villains Collection

I'm a Sephora girl, you all know that. I love everything Sephora; the products, the service, the ambiance. Everything!
Now MAC, well I'm not really into their cosmetics, but they're brushes are to die for.
So when Temptalia revealed the new collection they were launching partnered with Disney, I almost jumped out of my pants!


Wednesday, September 29, 2010

EDUN for Sephora Palette - Harmony

"We carry the story of the people who make our clothes around with us... edun"
Beautiful isn't it?
So is this palette.


That phrase can be found printed on the strings that close the organic cotton pouch that holds this palette.
The palette is very simple but very pretty. It features six earth tone eyeshadows and one blush. It is contained in a natural wooden case with a sliding top and a magnetic closure. The shades itself are very neutral with some being matte and others shimmery.
A neat thing about this palette is that it's made with baobab oil from seeds harvested by hand by women in a village in Burkina Faso. This makes the shadows incredibly blend-able which I love!
It is also formulated without parabens, perfume, and talc. It is also allergen free.

Thursday, September 23, 2010

Sephora's Makeup Palette To Go - BCA Edition

Has anyone ever asked you, what's your favorite color?
Chances are, all the time!
Well, my favorite color is pink, I looooooove pink!
Pink clothing, pink accessories, pink kitchen appliances....
Yes, I'm super obsessed, so when I see the chance of getting cute makeup in pink packaging, I jump at the opportunity.

That was the case with this little makeup palette. It is a travel friendly palette that includes eyeshadows, lipglosses and a blush.
Let's get the specs in order first. Straight from Sephora's description:

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Anastasia Highlighting Brow Kit

Ah the eyebrows. Sometimes neglected, sometimes abused, sometimes nonexistent.
They are the frame to our eyes, they can either make a statement or make us feel like shaving them off!
Thankfully I was blessed with full eyebrows, then again I'm hairy all over and that's not always a good thing. Still, I cannot complain, my eyebrows have always been something I'm proud of.

So why am I reviewing an eyebrow product?
Well, nothing is ever perfect and there is always room for improvement. Being that I am a girl who always like to learn, I wanted to learn how to make my eyebrows a little bit more polished, hence why I bought this kit.

Anastasia has many, many products to enhance the look of your eyebrows, and although I am drooling over their Kit for Perfect Brows and Eyes, I cannot afford to dish out that amount of money for a product I've never tried.

Friday, September 17, 2010

Hautelook, Sephora, and Drugstore Haul

Hey guys!
Today we are doing something different. I've decided to do a video combining my three recent makeup purchases. The first one was a little while ago and it was all Urban Decay cosmetics sold on
The second part of this haul is a mini drugstore purchase I made a few days ago and it was for two Maybelline products.
Last but not least was my Sephora haul. I left the best for last.

So, enjoy the video and I'll meet you back here when it's done to show you some swatches.

Now that you've seen the video I present you with some swatches.

Thursday, September 9, 2010

NYX Cosmetics Haul/Review

You read it, haul/review. What's a haul/review. I can't find a right name for it, but basically it's a mini review of several different products from a same brad. Just like the one I did for eyes lips face (e.l.f.) cosmetics.


Tuesday, September 7, 2010

And the winner is......

Time's up!
Who won?

Scroll down all the way to the bottom to find out.

Monday, August 30, 2010

Drama, drama, drama - UD Naked Palette

My younger sister is currently going to college and at this age sometimes you want to break out of your shell and try something new. I asked her to be my model for a look using my Naked Palette from Urban Decay and she agreed. I had no idea what I was going to do, so we just winged it.
We came up with a subtle dramatic eye with a bit of a smokey effect. I got to practice my eyelining skills a bit, and let me tell you, it was hard. She has a small scar right on one of her upper eyelashes and it was very tricky to line it.

Anyway, without further delay, here it is:

Products used:

Saturday, August 28, 2010

UD ♥ NYC - Times Square Pre-release

Comments posted after the comment I made on Sept. 7 2010 at 1:15 AM will not count towards the contest. This contest has ended!!

Can you imagine waking up at 5:00 AM and waiting in line for five more hours to get your hands on some piece of makeup?
Well imagine no more, because I did it! It wasn't any ordinary piece of makeup either, it was the coveted, highly anticipated, drool-inducing Book of Shadows Vol. III from Urban Decay.

I'm sure by now you've seen people blogging about it, tweeting about it, or you've heard about it on facebook and whatnot. Urban Decay has created a book of shadows dedicated to the super fab NYC. I live in the Bronx so I decided I would make the trip down there and get it before anyone else. Now, be aware that the palette hasn't even been released on, it was exclusively being sold at Times Square on August 28th from 1 - 9 p.m. Only 1000 pieces were available and the first 200 got free t-shirts.

Here is the footage I got, enjoy!

Monday, August 23, 2010

Crazy for Pink! Video tutorial

Hey there my beautiful gorgeous darlings! I am very excited to announce that I've jumped in the boat and made a small video tutorial called Crazy for pink!
Now, please remember that I am no makeup artist, I have limited knowledge when it comes to makeup techniques. All you see here is me doing the best I can to show some of my friends from Sephora FB page and Peggy's Wakeup Roll call how I did a certain look a few days back.

Now I have to admit, I am a tad nervous. I would really appreciate it if you gave me your input on it. If you guys like it, I am willing to do more. I know the lighting in this video sucks, please forgive me for that.

So, without further stalling.... I give you CRAZY FOR PINK!

Now onto the written tutorial.

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Tried and True - Cleaning your brushes

Hey there darlings! Most of you know I'm on a mini shopping hiatus until the 28th because I'm going down to the city to score the very anticipated UD hearts NYC palette from Urban Decay. I will no spend a cent (lies) until that day. Well, at least I'll try no to.
So, I came up with this concept called, Tried and True.
This will be a series that will basically let you know what products or methods I've tried and have worked wonderfully for me. Today we will start with cleaning your makeup brushes.

When I first started getting into makeup, I mean really getting into it, the first brush I ever bought was from Sephora, and it was the Professionnel Small Synthetic Eyeshadow Brush #26. I got this brush because it is good for packing in my shadow, and I like the size because I don't have a lot of eye space so this is perfect!
As time went by I started getting better at applying makeup so I needed more brushes to achieve the looks I was going for. The more brushes I got, the more it got me thinking; how am I supposed to clean these babies?
I was scared, my brushes are mostly from Sephora and MAC and as some of you may know, they aren't cheap. So I needed a method that would really get all the residue from there without damaging them. Onto Youtube I went.
Everybody has their own ways of doing things, and I watched them all! Well not all, but I watched many, many videos. Finally I found this one:

Friday, August 13, 2010

Almay intense i-color collection (for brown eyes)

Drugstore makeup, what hidden treasures can we find?
Many I'd say, but sometimes we can also find ourselves in the hassle of trying to get a refund if you change your mind, or arguing with a cashier because she charged you the full price even though it was on sale.
I had that happen to me with this beautiful collection. Putting it on today was such a bittersweet moment, I'm always excited to try new things but the memory of the bad day I had while purchasing this kind of put a damper on my mood.
Regardless, what's done is done, so let's get to the good part.

What it is:
Almay has a collection called intense i-color for Brown, Blue, Green, and Hazel eyes. They have created eyeshadow trios that complement each type of eye color. They've also paired them up with eyeliners in different colors as well to make your eyes pop! Finish up with a little of the corresponding mascara and your eyes will truly shine!

Since I have Brown eyes, I of course picked the shades for brown eyes.


Sunday, August 8, 2010

E.L.F. Haul/Review

You've all heard of E.L.F. right? No not the little guy that helps Santa on the holiday season!
I mean Eyes Lips Face cosmetics. It is this super affordable makeup brand that provides decent quality makeup for a steal!
Prices start at $1!
Now, just because it's cheap it doesn't mean it's no good. This brand has many cosmetics and tools that are actually a bargain and work pretty well.
There are things that aren't so well, but for a price like that I'm willing to take some risks.

So, for me to get some of these E.L.F. products I need to make a trip, and it's hard for me because I have a little one to take care of and I don't drive. So what's a girl to do?
Order online of course!
I signed up for E.L.F.'s newsletter and they're always sending me promotional codes and special events where you can get discounted shipping, or a certain % off your purchase. I've never taken advantage of these because none of them seem good enough.
Well, E.L.F. has reached it's 2 millionth order and to celebrate they were giving free shipping with any order over $10. I had to get in on that, so I decided to place an order.
So, I now present you my mini haul.


Please be aware that since this is a haul and review in one, I will not go into much detail about the products, I'll just provide the basics and we can discuss a specific product in the comments section if you want to know more ok?

Let's get started:
(Click on pictures for bigger view)

Thursday, July 29, 2010

Too Faced Fun in the Dark Light-Up Mirror Make-Up Palette (Limited Edition)

After weeks (more like 1 week) of not buying anything from Sephora and almost going berserk, my boyfriend decided that it would be safer having me out of the house and getting something before I hurt him. So onto Sephora we went and boy was I happy. I felt happy again. It wasn't until this moment when I realized that I had been miserable. Oh boy...
Anyway, I didn't know where to start, I've collected so much makeup that I really don't need anything. So the search began for something unnecessary but totally cute and inexpensive if possible. After searching the whole store twice, I stopped by the Too Faced section. I've never tried this brand because it seemed like it was a bit expensive for my taste, and it wasn't like I didn't own a lot of stuff they were offering from other brands. Either way, he only thing in my little basket were my eye makeup remover and some benefit combo set thing that I put in there so that it looked like I was shopping a lot.
I really wanted to try something in a set but almost all the displays were sold out of them, that is until I saw the Too Faced Fun in Dark palette. At first I couldn't believe it. It's this little palette with four eyeshadows, a blush, a bronzer, a lip color, and a gloss. The detail on the palette was too cute, the cover has a super sexy pinup look to it of a gorgeous voluptuous girl with her lover getting romantic under a small light. When you open it up you can see that it has a nice big mirror decorated with leaves of some sort, and my favorite part, it has lights!
Yes, it has six little lights, three on the top, three on bottom to help you achieve that awesome look in the darkest place.

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Revlon Illuminance Creme Shadow

I've never owned cream shadows. I always see the girls on YouTube using Mac paint pots but they are quite expensive and since I have no need for them I figured that I could find a cheaper substitute to start out with.
Almost every time I went to purchase drugstore makeup, I was tempted on buying these, but they were a bit pricey for something I really did not need, so I held off. I held off until they went on Bo Go sale. Now you know me, I will jump at the chance of buying one and getting the second 50% off.

So I initially was going to purchase four of them, but I wasn't sure how I would like them, so I only got two. The ones that I got were Black Magic and Moonlit Jewels. Beautiful colors!
I brought them home and immediately started to take pictures, the colors looked vibrant and super pigmented. When I swatched them on my arm I was not disappointed. They were gorgeous!!!
I fell in love. I couldn't wait to do a look with these to photograph for this blog.
So I got my chance one day when I wanted to go out and decided to use Black Magic because it has pink in it and that is my ultimate favorite color. I applied it with my finger since I do not have any spare brushes to use with these and the instructions actually advise you use your fingers anyway. The color went on nicely on my eyelids. The pink was super nice and it stayed put pretty well. I want to add that I did apply my Urban Decay Primer Potion beforehand to avoid any creasing. I then wanted to blend out the edges of the color, and this is where trouble started. As I was trying to blend out a bit with my finger, the color started to fade really badly. I then applied a little more and blended ever so slightly. So far it was OK. I then wanted to add a bit of a highlight with the white color in the palette to my inner corner and a bit on my brow bone. Again the color stayed pretty well, but when it came to blending with the pink, it was a disaster!

Saturday, July 24, 2010

Maybelline's Expert Wear Blush and Bronzer

I had a little crazy moment a few weeks ago where I would go to the drugstore almost everyday and get something. It could be some blush, some eyeliner, it didn't matter, but I had to get something.
I picked up these two things because they were on sale, buy one get one 50%. I think those offers enable us to get more makeup for less.
The blush I got was Pinch O Pink (#20) and the bronzer was Forever Warm (#5)
Yes, yes, I know drugstore makeup is cheaper, but I don't have the benefit of returning something that I've used in case I don't like it. So if I can get it for cheaper then I'm willing to take the risk.

Anyway, I've used these products three times, and all three times I've changed my mind. That's why it took me so long to write a review about it, and the reason I am reviewing them together is because, well because I used them together and besides, they are very much alike.

At first when I swatched them, the colors were very pigmented on both the blush and the bronzer. I then put on the blush and I was disappointed, the amount of product my brushed picked up was minimal. Either the powder was very pressed or my brush just refused to pick up any more, but as I applied it on my face there was hardly any color. The texture was a bit too thick for me, not coarse, just dense I suppose.
Another disappointment was the bronzer, but this is partly my fault. I don't really need bronzer, I am nicely bronzed already, but still I wanted to see what all the hype was about for summer. Still, when I applied the bronzer there was no difference on my face, I think I either had to buy a much darker shade or my face really does not need any bronzer.

Monday, July 19, 2010

Lip gloss and eyeliner

More than a review this is a beauty tip I suppose.
There are days where I don't feel like wearing any makeup. Nothing!
Let's face it, with the high temperatures summer brings and our busy schedules, who has the time?
Still, I feel that if I just walk out the door as if I just woke up, I look less than attractive.
So what's a girl to do?
Lipgloss and eyeliner of course.
It is not going to make a huge difference on how you look, but I feel that when I have these two things on, I look more put together without trying too hard. Heck I even wear this to the gym.
A good quality waterproof eyeliner will last you hours and won't leave you with raccoon eyes even if you sweat. A beautiful color lipgloss that isn't goopy or sticky can be reapplied throughout the day as needed and looks nice too.
Now I know some people don't like glosses, you feel like you have grease on your lips. I guess it's all about preference, but I think that finding that right shade of gloss that looks good on you and the right application will make your lips look luscious without looking like you gobbled down a bucket of fried chicken.

So that's it gals, when you're in a tight spot and you just need a little definition to your face, lipgloss and eyeliner are your friends.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Maybelline's Expert Wear Eye Shadow Quads

My little sister and her bestie were here last week. We played games and partially watched a movie. Then we went out to get some gelato. As we were walking down Arthur Ave., I couldn't resist walking towards the drugstore. I had to get some makeup. We went it and we started talking about what kind of makeup my sister wore and all that stuff. Apparently she owned some makeup but was unsure on how to apply it on her so that she could get a dramatic look without looking over the top. I took this as a chance to pass on some of my knowledge and learn something in as well.

So we were pondering on what to get. Something age appropriate, inexpensive and easy to use for a teenager. Maybelline was on a Bo Go sale so I picked out my falsies mascara previously reviewed, and we picked up their Expert Wear eyeshadow quad in Time for Wine
The colors were pretty neutral but there was this nice dark color in it that could take the look up a notch and add some drama like she wanted.

After getting home and eating our sushi (Yum!) we started playing around with the makeup. I decided that even though I had several brushes to do her eyes with, we were going to stick with the little applicators since she might not own the same brushes that I did. Let me tell you, it wasn't easy, but they served their purpose.

I did one eye, pausing at each step so that she could mimic what I did, I did cheat a little, I applied Urban decay's primer potion. I never use my eyeshadows without it and since she doesn't own it I decided to give her a little sample tube I had saved from a previous palette I got.

Sunday, July 11, 2010

Maybelline's Volum'Express The Falsies mascara

One I've learned in my short time playing with makeup, is that you can find good quality products in drugstores.
With drugstore makeup it's kind of hit and miss. You can purchase a product and if you don't like it then you're stuck with it, can't return it after it's been used. So I'm usually wary of buying anything unless I've done my homework.

As usual, watching beauty videos on YouTube, I saw a lot of girls finishing their looks with false lashes. What a pain! Having to cut them to size to fit you, putting the glue, then trying to make them stick to your eyes and look natural? That is a bit too much for me, maybe I'll try that in the distant future.

Then I heard about the the falsies mascara. If you didn't know, that is what false eyelashes are called: falsies. Maybelline came up with a mascara that is supposed to give you the nice full look of false eyelashes.
False eyelashes are supposed to give you that dramatic look, perfect for a smokey eye. Nice long thick lashes, wow! This mascara doesn't quite go there, but it's a great product nonetheless.

I've never used Maybelline's products, and for a first try I think this mascara is wonderful.
My lashes are nice and long to begin with but when I applied this it added more length, wow!
The formulation is nice and thin so clumping is minimum, and you can totally build up the intensity if you would like to. I like to keep it at one coat though, that's my personal preference.

The mascara wears nicely, my lashes get that extra oomph that we all love and need and it does not smudge as I thought it would. It keeps intact pretty nicely which is great for long term wear throughout the day.
When you remove it though you will find some resistance but just give your makeup remover a chance to break up the product and then wipe away.

So what do I really think of this mascara?
I give it:

Review SystemReview SystemReview SystemReview SystemReview System

I don't have pictures at the moment, I was so excited to post this review that I totally forgot to take pictures when I used it. I'll post some as soon as I can, I promise.

I have a picture now, one eye with and the other without the mascara on:


As you can see my lashes are a bit long and full on their own, but I feel like the side that does have mascara is a bit longer, it just give me the oomph I like.

You can purchase this mascara at most drugstores, mine was a little over $7.00

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Urban Decay's Naked Palette

Hey guys, so today I'm super excited because a package came in the mail today. If you follow me on Facebook, you'll know that I've been waiting like a mad woman for my new Naked palette. I was floored when Urban Decay posted sneak peek pictures, the colors looked gorgeous!

So, let's start with the basics:

First of, this palette is from their fall collection. I know, I know, summer just started, but you know in this industry sometimes fall comes earlier than expected. Lolz.
Second of all, the colors are neutral, but they're not your typical neutrals. No, no, no! They are fab neutrals! Omg guys, these colors are so fierce, yet so appropriate for everyday wear. You can wear them to school or work for a natural look but still look glamorous as only us Urban Decay's girl can look.
Third and certainly not least, and this is one of the most important parts, they are full size eyeshadows! Each individually eyeshadow packs 0.05 oz and you get twelve 0.05 oz shadows in this palette. Holy molly!

Now these shadows are not all new, some of them have already been released. Personally, I only own two of them in other palettes and both of them are my faves. These twelve shadows complement each other beautifully. Urban decay really went all out with this palette. It is so sleek and sophisticated. You can pop it in your purse and take it with you wherever. The mirror has a nice size to it so touch ups are easy wherever you are.
One of my favorite things aside from the gorgeous eyeshadows, is the 24/7 dual ended eyeliner. One side has our trusty color: Zero, the other side has this new color called whisky which is a brown color.
To top that all off, it comes with an ubber cute mini primer potion. Why is it so cute? It is not your standard cylindrical shape that you usually get with your palettes, it is shaped just like the full size only smaller. Adorable!

As you all know Urban Decay's eyshadows are highly pigmented and long lasting. Add that to all we've said above and you have the must have palette of the Fall season.

I give this product:

Review SystemReview SystemReview SystemReview SystemReview System

Urban Decay's Naked palette deserves the highest marks for being sleek, sophisticated, and downright amazing! I know the palette is a bit pricey but please keep in mind what you're getting here. It is totally worth the money.

Picture time!

Photobucket Photobucket
Click on the pictures to see full size

You can buy this from Urban Decay's website or from Sephora and it will cost you $44.00
Urban Decay is currently sold out on these so check back frequently if you want to purchase from there.

I want to try something new, if you have gotten this palette please post a picture of a look you've created with it. I would love to see what you come up with and maybe get some ideas from you!

Sunday, July 4, 2010

EOS Lip Balms

I'm all for lip products. I think that if you don't have enough time in the morning to do your makeup, as long as you have something on your lips you'll still be able to feel pretty. Taking care of your lips is also something I keep in high regard. I want my lips to feel smooth and hydrated so whenever I'm throwing any lipstick or lipgloss my lips do not look chapped and dry.

Saying that, I must admit I hate chapstick. It is so generic, some of them have tint and flavors but they're just not that appealing. A few weeks ago I saw a video on Youtube from emilynoel83 where she reviewed these amazing lip balms. Now, you know me, I had seen this product before but completely ignored it. Until of course Emily talked about it. It is the EOS (evolution of smooth) Lip balms.

They come in this cute little round shape, makes them look like a bouncy ball. You twist off the cap and you find the balm itself in a rounded shape. They come in different scents like summer fruit, honeysuckle honeydew, sweet mint and their new lemon drop (with SPF 15). The smell these puppies have are delicious! Oh my, makes me want to eat them. I'm more of a visual person, so the shape they have is what sold me, but the smell is such a nice little touch. It's not overpowering and it doesn't linger too much after you've applied it so that is great.

Now, onto some more important matters. How good is it?
Well, in my opinion these are awesome.
First of all, the application is super quick, just pucker up your lips and coat them with the balm in one or two strokes. You do both lips at one so that's a time saver.
The feel of it is super smooth, my lips feel like velvet when I have this on.
The packaging is great. Just throw them in your purse without having to worry that the cap will come off, and when you need to apply it, you don't have to dig through your purse to find it. The ball shape is easy to feel around in your purse without having to look.

So how do I rate this product? I give it:

Review SystemReview System Review SystemReview SystemReview System

Because all of the things it does and the fact that it's convinient and cute, this product gets the highest marks. I urge you to get it if you're in the market for some good quality and fun lip balms.

Now onto the pictures:


I'm trying something new with the pics, so please click on them for full size.

I bought this trio for $9.99 and if you check EOS website you'll notice that they run for $3.29 each. I urge to to look in your local drugstore and see if you can find a good deal.
If you're thinking of only purchasing one, I recommend the lemon one just because of the SPF in it.

Thursday, July 1, 2010

Revlon's ColorBurst Lipstick

A few weeks ago I had a revelation. As I went around my makeup train case, I admired all my lipglosses. Oh my beautiful glosses, in an array of color and formulations. Then I realized something appaling! I didn't own any lipsticks.
How can that be? No lipsticks? Well I guess it makes sense. I lick my lips too much so putting on some color that would stay on for more than a few minutes did not make sense.
Yet, since I've started taking new appreciation for makeup, I decided that I had to own at least a nude lipstick.
I saw on a bunch of Youtube videos how people raved about Revlon's colorburst lipsticks. They said great things about it and when it came to the perfect nude lipstick, Revlon was the way to go.

So I went and searched for it at my local Walgreens, but, DUN DUN DUN! They were sold out!
They had every color except the one I wanted: Soft Nude.
I went berserk! I wanted it, so I searched, I went to all of my local drugstores until I finally gave up.
I was so upset that I even considered getting something else, but my heart was set. I wanted Revlon.

Finally I decided to try again, so to Rite Aid I went, and lo and behold, they had it! I snatched it as quickly as I could, it was the last one.

The packaging is so cute! It has a quilted pattern in two sides of the case which I love. I'm a visual kind of girl, so this was too good to pass up. There is no peek in window on the top but there is a sort of swatch that tells you what color you're getting. Yes, I know that sometimes the color they have on the swatch is nothing like the color inside, but I think that this time they got it right. Be careful though, some of the lipsticks are shimmery, so be sure to check the top swatch, if it shimmers or sparkles then that's what you're gonna get in the product itself.

As soon as I got home I opened my Colorburts lipstick, it was gorgeous! The color matched the swatch perfectly in my opinion and it even had the Revlon name engraved on it. It looked so sophisticated. I applied it and the texture was so smooth and creamy. It glided right on my lips unlike other lipsticks that feel dry and tug on your lip a bit.
When I saw myself in the mirror I was floored. It looked pretty. I was amazed. I loved it, I love it still. I have found my perfect nude lipstick.

I give this product:

Review SystemReview SystemReview SystemReview SystemReview System

Yes, I know I only own one, but for now that is all I need. I think this lipstick is perfect in every way, I can use it alone with an awesome smoky eye or top it off with a gloss for a subtle wash of color.

You can purchase this product in most of your local drugstores and the price will vary. Mine was $8.99. I suggest waiting for a BOGO offer or buy them in a two-pack like the ones in Target.

On to the pictures:

Photobucket Photobucket

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Sephora Stores

By now you've noticed that most of the make-up I buy and review comes from Sephora. Yes, I know it's a bit pricey, but there is a reason why I shop there, actually there are several reasons.

Sephora carries a huge array of brands, the brands themselves are of high quality and cost effective when it comes down to weight and how long they last.
For example, take Urban Decay's 24/7 eyeliner. It's $17 at Sephora, yikes! But hold on, you may think that's a little pricey, I'm here to tell you that it's worth your money. The liner is so pigmented that you don't need to apply it over and over again to get a nice rich colored line. You end up using less of it, therefore the liner lasts you longer. You also get the color from tip to end. Cent by cent you get more out of your purchase. I've owned my liner for five months I think and I've only sharpened it twice. I've written a review of these liners so be sure to check them out.

Another thing Sephora has is crew members who will help you out. I know that the first time I went there I was lost! Seeing the store for the first time can be overwhelming, there is so much to see and I didn't know where to start. Fortunately one of the girls there approached me and helped me get exactly what I needed, she tried on different products on my face and took her time to help me find what suited and what I liked. That was a such a great experience.

There's more, each and every display of cosmetics has testers. You can go in and play with them. Want to see how a certain lip color looks on you? Go ahead and try it out. There are makeup applicators, sponges, makeup remover and tissues so you can apply everything with peace of mind.

Lastly, Sephora has a great return policy. If you don't like something you can always return it. I recently had a bad experience with a mascara and I had to return it. I hated having to return something but it was $19 and I wasn't going to stay with something that was useless to me. So I went to the store and the girls were so sweet. They took in my return and helped me find a replacement mascara. I ended up buying Urban Decay's big fatty waterproof mascara. It took a long time too, but they were happy to help me out.

So, the bottom line is this. Expensive doesn't always necessarily mean good and cheap doesn't always mean bad. I've found great products from drugstore brands like the E.L.F cosmetics. Not all of their products are great but the ones I've found are amazing and most of them cost you $1 a piece. Wow! So when shopping for makeup I suggest to always do some research, and when it comes to Sephora, if you didn't like a product, you can always take it back.

Sephora stores overall get:

Review SystemReview SystemReview SystemReview SystemReview System

For being such an awesome store!

Sunday, June 27, 2010

Covergirl's Outlast Lip Stains

You've seen the commercial right? Drew Barrymore comes out all sassy and sexy and starts modeling or dancing, not sure which. Drew starts talking and keeps dancing, then she says something that catches my attention; "It's never sticky 'cause it's a stain and it won't leave your lips because it's outlast"
Hello! That is so what I'm looking for when it comes to Summer make-up.
As you can already tell, I'm not one to just run to the store and get make-up on a whim. I do my research, and research I did.

I started with the basics, YouTube, facebook, forums and other blogs. They all had mixed reviews and to me that just means that I need to hold off for a little while.
I stayed away for a couple of months, until Walgreens had a sale. Buy one get one 50%. I love BOGO promotions, so I decided that this would be a great time to pick up a couple.

Before we get to the review, here is what Covergirl has to say about it's product:

The water-based colorants of Outlast Lipstain give lips a beautiful, lightweight flush of color that won't come off, lasting for hours without the heavy look or feel of an ordinary lipstick. Its pen-like precision applicator makes it easy to define your lips-just draw on color without any hassle!

This is totally up my alley. I always lick my lips, therefore, anything that I put there tends to disappear after a short while. I already own a lipstain from MAC but if you've ever shopped there you know that trying to get different ones in other colors can get really pricey. These are half the price and when you buy them at sale price they are super affordable. So I picked up the new colors: Teasing blush (415) and Sassy Mauve (420). The names are so cute!
So the packaging is not so nice, it's kind of simple but that's OK. The applicator is cool, it's like a marker so you can very easily line your lips and then fill them in.
Now this will not give you strong color like the ones from MAC's, so you kinda have to build up the intensity. Then again if you're into just a little color this would be perfect for you. For me it doesn't really matter, I usually like to keep it subtle, but I'm totally for applying more if I'm feeling "Sassy!"

So I put these to the test, I applied, let it dry and put a gloss over it. Why a gloss? Well lipstains can be drying so I like to put something on top to keep it moist. Don't want to put a gloss? Put on some lip balm and problem solved.
They staying power is pretty decent. If you don't lick or rub too often then the stain will stay put for a nice amount of time. I also put it to the eating and drinking taste and it did fade a little. So yeah, it's not all that is hyped up to be but it's a nice product nonetheless.

So where does it stand? I give it:

Review SystemReview SystemReview SystemReview System

I gave it a four because it does fade a bit after eating, which I can totally live with. Yet, I'm still searching for the perfect lip stain, one that does not budge regardless of what you eat.

Here are the two colors I got:


Teasing blush and Sassy Mauve

You can purchase this product from most drugstores and the price will vary depending on your location. I got mine from Walgreens and it was $8.99 or $13.50 for two plus tax.

Forgot to mention that the stain smells super yummy!

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Urban Decay's Big Fatty Waterproof Mascara

Aww, the summer months. Beaches, BBQ's, fun in the sun. Fun until your make-up starts melting that is!

I don't wear makeup everyday, especially in the summer, makeup just doesn't stay in my face too long on a hot sunny day. I doesn't matter if I've only walked a block, I will sweat and we all know what sweat does to makeup. It melts it! Well it doesn't really melt it, but it gets wet and it starts running down your face, plus I have a bad habbit of rubbing my eyes and licking my lips a lot so I have to be picky when it comes to summer makeup.

A great summer pal for me is waterproof mascara. Now I know what you may be thinking, waterproof? It's not like I'm going swimming right? Plus, I have to spend that extra time at night scrubbing it out of my eyelashes before I go to bed. Well that may be, but I sure rather spend that extra time at night than walking around with raccoon eyes during the day.
I was using a very generic waterproof mascara from Avon, and it worked great! Then I ran out. So the search began for a new one. I have my Bare escentuals one but it's not waterproof, altough I must admit that I am in love with it, IN LOVE!
So if you've read my previous posts you'll know that the BADgal one was a total flop. I returned it, thank god for Sephora's great return policy by the way. The girl who handled my return helped me search for another one, we searched and searched and neither one pleased me. I even pulled out my little list of suggestions my lovely gals from the Sephora page in facebook suggested, but they didn't have any of those.

After walking around for what seemed like hours (15 mins.), it finally hit me. What brand is the one I always turn to? Well Urban Decay of course. Well the other girls kind of suggested it first, but let's pretend the genious was all me.
So we went for the big fatty mascara.

To begin, I must say I'm not too fond of the big wand. Well it's called the big fatty for a reason right. Anyway, the packaging is super cute! Yes, I know I shouldn't but I do tend to shop because of how cute makeup looks, sorry not my fault that brands know how to make it look like eye candy. I was scared though, the reviews on Sephora aren't very promising, but I had to give it a try, and as you might guess by my semi-what positive attitude, you might realize that I was glad I tried it.

The mascara is absolutley great! The application was nice and smooth, not dry, not runny, just perfect. The big wand made it easier to coat all my lashes quickly and no transfer anywhere on my lids. It dries pretty quick and it left only a minimal amount of clumping, seriously, I can live with that.

My lashes looked beautiful! Now I can't post a pick of that because I kind of fell asleep before taking a picture, (I know, bad right?) but that just takes me to the other great thing about this. There was no smudging during the long hours that I slept. Super cool!

So, let's get to the good part. I give it:

Review SystemReview SystemReview SystemReview System

Why a four? Well to tell you the truth, even though this mascara is great it still does not compare to the one from Avon. I didn't have time to get an Avon rep. or I would have gone to her first, but I don't want to take away from this product. If you're thinking of buying it then I say you're making a good choice. Go play with it and see what you think.

Onto some pictures now:



You can purchase this product from Sephora or Urban Decay and it will cost you $20

Visitor Count

Blog Template by Delicious Design Studio